Veggie Out

I’ve been trying to eat healthier. I have always ate fairly healthy in terms of I rarely eat fast food, drink pop, and try to make homecooked meals instead of going out but I knew I could be even better. We love our craft beer and pizza is my spirit animal. I decided if I really wanted to get healthy and have my workouts take me further I needed to really cut back on some things (pasta…) and add some more.

Just some background info, I am a pretty picky eater. I am not nearly as bad as I was a child but I still am pretty bad. Specifically, I don’t really like veggies. I’m a fruit person. I could eat pounds of fruit all day. But unfortunately for me, fruit cannot provide all of my nutrients. Plus veggies usually last longer and are more often made into meals (you aren’t going to put blueberries with your tilapia).

Anyway, on my quest to be a healthier me, I did what I once thought impossible. I had an entire dinner of veggies.

IMG_5769

Now, I realize corn on the cob may not be the healthiest but hey, I was already stretching myself here.

So basically I just roasted sweet potato, squash, zucchini, and tomatoes with some olive oil and light seasoning. That’s it! And to my surprise, it wasn’t so bad. I was not a huge fan of the zucchini but the squash and sweet potato were very tasty. I used the recipes from this site and this one.

I’m so happy I pushed myself to try veggies a new way because since then I have been finding it easier to incorporate them into meals. I even bought squash and zucchini at the farmer’s market this past weekend because I was excited to try some recipes out! So to all you veggie haters, press on there is hope!

Leave a Reply

