Island Green Smoothie

FontCandy

My new obsession is the Island Green smoothie. I had this smoothie at Tropical Smoothie Cafe and I wanted to be able to make a slightly healthier and cheaper version at home. It is a great smoothie for those who aren’t big fans of leafy green veggies (like me!) but who are still looking to get them in their diet. It is actually quite filling and so I usually fill two tumblers and put one in the fridge. I think what I like most about this smoothie is that is does not separate overnight and get all watery. It’s also great after a workout or on the way to class or work.

smoothieboard

blender

Here’s the recipe:

7.5 oz. water

1/2 cup mango

1/2 cup pineapple

1 half banana

1/4 cup spinach leaves

1/4 cup. kale

I found this recipe here.

I modified the recipe by removing the sugar and adding more spinach and kale. You could even add old fashioned oats to give it a little more substance and keep you full longer. I also tend to avoid putting the kale stems in the smoothies because I want it to be a smooth as possible. I blend the smoothie for about 2 minutes to really break down the leaves because I want to avoid eating a chunk of kale. I found that depending on how much of each ingredient I have, you can be flexible in the measurements. The versatility of smoothies is what makes them so great!

One thought on “Island Green Smoothie

Leave a Reply

